Volkswagen Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Plane
Joined
·
3,414 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last week I put new top mount in my TDI. A few days later the ABS light came on the dash. Upon a bit of inspection the drivers side sensor plug looked like it was disturbed so I opened it and there was dirt in there so I cleaned it (there was dirt and moisture in there) and pulgged back in.
But the light is still on and ABS off. Is the sensor plug knackered or do I need to get it reset with vag-com?
Passenger side looks grand.

Also I have done polybushes on wishbones before but I am trying to put MKIV ones in and there are a fucker to get in, will any garage press them in, or I live about 25 mins from Martin Tracey so I might go over there. (who also has vag-com)
They are powerflex.
Any help appreciated.

Paul
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,210 Posts
You probably need to clear the code alright or alternatively leave the battery disconnected overnight to reset the ECU. VAGCom cables are so cheap now that you could invest in one off ebay if you have a laptop.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
254 Posts
Paul,

Mke sure the wires havent pulled out of the plug on the loom, pull back the rubber boot and make sure both wires are connected to the pins on the plug.
I've seen this on a copuple of cars lately.

Tom
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,877 Posts
Will the "leaving the battery disconnected over night and resetting the ECU" trick reset an airbag fault?

How do you go about resetting it? just go for a drive giving it various different conditions and let it learn all over again?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
254 Posts
QUOTE (Wolfsburg_TDI @ Jan 23 2006, 01:08 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Will the "leaving the battery disconnected over night and resetting the ECU" trick reset an airbag fault?

How do you go about resetting it? just go for a drive giving it various different conditions and let it learn all over again?

No.

Not if you left it disconnected for a month.

Control module has to have faults read and then cleared.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,877 Posts
I knew it was too good to be true! plus i dont have a month!

Can you do this with a VAG COM?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,210 Posts
QUOTE (VST @ Jan 23 2006, 01:10 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>No.

Not if you left it disconnected for a month.

Control module has to have faults read and then cleared.

It worked for me before with an emissions light. That was probably directly connected with the ECU. ABS would be controlled using one of the seperate "controllers". Anyway VAGcom cables can be picked up for peanuts nowadays.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,877 Posts
What we talking about here trevor? ball park figure - do i need software aswell?

Also wheres a good place to buy them? Ebay?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,210 Posts
I got one for about 30 euro lately. USB jobbie for non CAN BUS cars. ie Mk4s. Yeah ebay.

Software is free of Ross Tech. Do a search on google.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,210 Posts
QUOTE (Wolfsburg_TDI @ Jan 23 2006, 02:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Legendary trevor cheers for that.

Would this do the trick trevor?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/USB-KKL-Vag-Com-Cmpa...1QQcmdZViewItem

The NON CAN bus bit is throwing me off - what does it mean?

All mk5 platform cars use what is called a CAN BUS. Cable wont work on these properly. It can connect to the ECU as I tried it on the Octy but not any of the controllers.

That one will do fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,877 Posts
nice one trevor - ill be ordering it presently!
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top