Volkswagen Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
hi

figured i would put this up as i have never done a project thread before.
bought this helios blue 5 door off a fellow member pulled well through the gears besides a bit of clutch slip,which i was told was the cable,

so......

i started by stripping the front end

founf that the driveshaft seals were shot

front end stripped out and engine hanging

engine out doesnt look too bad

a bit of rot caused by heat i think

surface rust
broke the the dip stick:

decided to paint the engine so here is before..

after paint

·
Registered
1,333 Posts

powersteering rack fitted

1.9 diesel gearbox fitted..figured i would try it as i found the 8v box a bit short,
had to change the drive shafts as the flanges are different on the diesel box,i used mk2 gtd shafts.
i also put in a sachs clutch and main oil seal

engine back in place,fixed all the heatshield rattles..there was a few.. a also fixed the leaking exhaust and i replaced all the clamps and gaskets

new bearings..
Painted the carriers black and the calipers red,the car already had g60 brakes:D
i also replaced the rear calipers with mk4 ones if anyone is having question of doing this i can't recommend this more it changes the handbrake and bleeding is much easier,also the obvious not ceasing is nice:D

all put back in to place,
i also installed sound deadening from a gtd on the firewall and bonnet..really makes a difference,i wanted it to look oem so all the brackets and everything is genuine including engine brackets and pump as the car didnt have powersteering

thanks to everyone who supplied me with parts, sorry for being such a pain in ass but i like things a certain way..

tell me what you think

PJ

·
Registered
2,635 Posts
Nice one but as regards your first photo..

its not a good idea to breakdance near a car on axle stands.

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·